It seems unfair to let it burn off like fog

This really has been the best job ever. I’ve loved it. And I just left for the last time.

I’d like to take some time to process the emotions but I can’t because I’m on my way to get my rental car and then I’ll be loading up my stuff and then I’ll be leaving Chicago for good. There is so much going on in my head and heart right now and I don’t have any time to just sit and deal with it. I guess I can do some of that on today’s drive, but that’s not really ideal. I need a dark room and some sad music and then some happy music. And I have the feeling that, by Sunday, when I’ll have time to process, it’ll be gone, having slipped away unacknowledged. That’s not fair to my grief and wistfulness, to just let it dissolve without some sort of recognition.

