Sunshine

I always find the summer solstice a little bittersweet.  I love the long days of summer and I hate realizing that, from here on out, the days are just going to be getting shorter.  For the next six months, there will be a little less daylight every day.

Worst of all, this year, when that shortest day rolls around, I’ll be newly post-partum.  This worries me. I tend to have mild seasonal affective issues anyway; I imagine having a baby and dealing with first-time parenthood is only going to make those issues more pronounced. So I’m approaching today with a little dread.

What I should be doing is remapping my feelings about the summer solstice — you know, instead of feeling all “impending doom!” about it, I should look on it like a marker:  By the time the next solstice rolls around, I’ll have a baby in my arms! And that will be wonderful and magical! It will also be hard, yes.  But it will be mostly wonderful, right?

One Response

  1. You will be too busy to care about a trifling thing like daylight. Honest. 🙂 (And congrats!)

Comments are closed.

