They weeble, they wobble, they won’t fall down!

I will be 24 weeks tomorrow.  I feel like, in the last week or ten days, I am suddenly pregnant. Pregnant women talk about “popping” in early pregnancy, and I definitely remember that around 16 weeks, it was suddenly obvious that I was pregnant and I couldn’t really hide it anymore.

But now, I’m experiencing it all over again.  This isn’t “popping,” but it’s a lot like it.  I’ve gone from having a small but noticeable belly to being someone whose belly enters the room before she does. I am pregnant. My belly has moved up, my boobs are out of control, and I even think my hips — which do NOT need to widen — have started to move apart. I see some of the other women in my prenatal yoga class who are due around the same time as I am and wonder why I look so much bigger than they do. Now, to be fair, I am short and have a short torso, so I’m sure that’s part of it. But it doesn’t change the fact that I cannot imagine how big I’m going to be in November! I feel pretty big now, and I’ve got 16 weeks to go till my due date. I’m pretty sure I’m going to look like a Weeble-Wobble by the end of it all.

Luckily, I’m getting really big right as the end of the summer looms. Thank God. During the worst of the heat wave last month, my feet were overflowing out of my sandals. Literally overflowing. Between that and the cankles, I was looking pretty hot. And by “hot,” I mean really sweaty and gross.  (Which reminds me of this post a friend linked to last week:

THE PREGNANCY GLOW Yeah, we’re glowing. You know why? We’re sweaty. The phrase “bun in the oven” is meant to be cute, but it is also literal.  As pregnancy progresses, the uterus morphs into an internal hot water bottle filled with a baby that feels like it’s made out of burning coals. In my case, a close inspection of the “glow” would reveal an impressive case of adult acne covered haphazardly by bronzer.

Truth, y’all.)

Of course, for all my complaining, I’m really still just ecstatic to be where I am. I feel really lucky to have had such a boring, uneventful pregnancy so far. And I’m hoping the next few months are just as boring and uneventful.

