Moving foward.

So it’s been a while.

Things at work exploded over the last few weeks, with three separate matters all going into overdrive for me, so that’s been part of it. Also, we were doing a little bit of traveling — to Chicago for a wedding, and then on a quick weekend road trip for my birthday. And I’ve just been sort of mentally overwhelmed with getting ready for this baby to be here in approximately ten weeks.

Ten weeks! How can that even be possible? We haven’t picked up our crib (though thank God we went and ordered it a couple of weeks ago), we don’t have a crib mattress, we don’t have any receiving blankets, we have very little in the way of clothes for this kid, and while we finally decided to go ahead and do cloth diapers, I haven’t actually bought any.

So.

Meanwhile, I’m getting bigger and bigger and more and more uncomfortable. Sleeping is now a hit-or-miss prospect. I have a recurring pain in my upper back/ribs that makes me think the baby is posterior — or maybe it’s just that my body is just not happy with all the extra weight on my front.  Whatever the cause, it is so painful that I feel like I shouldn’t be able to breathe, even though I can. By the end of the day, most days, I have a definite and distinctive waddle and my feet are usually overflowing my shoes.

Despite all my complaining, I am getting more and more excited to meet this kid! We do have a pack ‘n play with a bassinet, so the kid has a place to sleep, and we have SOME onesies and sleepers, and receiving blankets are easy enough to get. And if we haven’t gotten our cloth diapers by the time the baby comes, we can start out with disposables and switch as we get acclimated.  It will all be OK.

So today, we’ll go pick up our crib and hopefully put it together. And we’ll try and get the nursery area set up. And I’ll do some work, because I’ve still got more than ten weeks to go till my due date and my clients have stuff that needs to be dealt with. Onward!

One Response

  1. Best attitude… it will be ok.

Comments are closed.

