Stay hungry, stay foolish.

Until I worked at a law firm, I never had to use a PC for anything, at least post-high school. My college was a Mac campus, then I worked at a university that was a Mac campus, then I went to a law school that didn’t require me to use a PC…it wasn’t until my first day as a summer associate in 2007 that I had no choice but to use a PC on a daily basis.

Even though I didn’t own my own Mac until after college, I used a lot of them in college. From Mac Classics (b&w and color), to Quadras, to various Power Macintoshes (6100, 7100, 8100), to Performas, to the first G3s (remember the really ugly all-in-one?), to various models of PowerBook, to the first iMacs. And then after college, I began buying my own Macs (and then iPods):

  • PowerBook G3 (Pismo): 2000-2005
  • Third gen iPod Classic: 2003-2007 (still have it, doesn’t work)
  • PowerBook G4 (12″): 2005-present; 2007-present (two machines, one (mine) bought new, one (Mr. D’s) bought used, both still work)
  • Second gen iPod Nano: 2007-present (still have it, still works)
  • MacBook Pro (15″): 2008-present (my current Mac)
  • MacBook Unibody (13″): 2009-present (Mr. D.’s current Mac)
  • Second gen iPod Touch: 2009-present (still have it, still works, primary iPod)

And tomorrow, I think I’m going to preorder my first iPhone.

I’m not a fanboy (or fangirl, as the case may be), but I have always loved Macs. The interface, the intuitiveness, the ease with which things Just Work. I like technology but I also like technology to work. I’ve never been one of those people who wants to have to work too hard to make something work.  And in all my years of using Macs, that’s never really been a problem. Sure, the project I was working on may have required hard work, but making it work on the computer? Never a big deal. This is how technology should be — if we’re going to invite it into our lives and become dependent on it, it should Just Work. Apple products always seemed to Just Work.

And we owe a lot of that to Steve Jobs’ vision. So it’s not all that surprising that I was saddened to hear of his death. When he retired in August, I knew his health must be really bad and figured we’d be reading his obituary sooner rather than later. But even that didn’t make it any less of a shock to hear he’d finally gone.

So RIP, Steve. You will be missed.

