There’s a lot I don’t know about babies.

So it’s been a week. Well, a week and a day. Eight days. And my little girl is beautiful and perfect and delightful. She also doesn’t sleep at the right times, nor is she awake at the right times, so it’s a good thing she’s beautiful, perfect, and delightful. Otherwise, the fussing and crying from 6 pm to midnight, and the refusal to calm down enough to eat, and the falling asleep as soon as I start to feed her, and the staying awake after feedings instead of napping…well, all of that would really be getting to me. OK, it is getting to me. But I love that little girl, so I know it’ll all be OK.

Being the research-oriented person that I am, I have of course spent a lot of time with Dr. Google, trying to figure out what I can do about the excessive sleepiness, the evening fussiness, the feeding issues. And I think I’ve just about exhausted my need to read all about what other people think I should do. This is a good thing. When I’m drafting something at work, I know I’ve reached the point where I can start writing when I am sick of running more searches. Well, I’m sick of running searches, y’all. Everyone has a different opinion, a different solution, a different philosophy; what almost every source agrees on is that this stuff is totally normal.

It feels a little silly to not know that, but, hey, this is my first baby. And while I have younger siblings, they are step- and half-siblings, so I wasn’t in the house with them when they were newborns. I’ve babysat a fair number of kids, and changed lots of diapers, and even held my fair share of newborns, but I’ve never spent an extended period of time with a brand new baby. So I needed the reassurance — such as it is — of multiple online sources (and not the crazy wackadoo ones, but the respectable ones) telling me that this is Normal.

Anyway, that’s a long-winded way of saying that things are going as well as they can, given my daughter’s unwillingness to stay awake to eat and her propensity for evening fussiness (and cluster feeding, oh God, the cluster feeding).  We’re doing well. And I am more thankful than ever that I have four months (or, now, three months and three weeks) to spend at home with her.

6 Responses

  1. It’s a steep learning curve. But trust your instincts and remember Dr. Google and the book authors have never met your child.

  2. I can’t give you advice, since my kids were never super sleepers (til toddlerhood). All I can say is – whatever you’re doing, you’re probably doing it right!

  3. Everyone has a different opinion, a different solution, a different philosophy; what almost every source agrees on is that this stuff is totally normal.

    Good for you! This time around I barely read anything, but the first time I was also looking for advice all the time. Some of it is helpful, but I was much more relaxed this time when I wasn’t always worried about what I was doing right or wrong. You learned that a lot quicker than I did.

  4. You are awesome! I was like this with my first too — new stuff will come up that may send you back to doctor google. Pay attention to the folks who say it is Normal and it Gets Better.

    #1 rule of babies… just when you think you’ve got it figured out, they grow and change the rules.

  5. Congrats on your new baby!! And yes, there’s so much to learn. It’s definitely baptism by fire!

Comments are closed.

